City Council


City Council
6615 Passons Boulevard
Pico Rivera, CA  90660
(562) 801-4371


The Pico Rivera City Council currently consists of the following members:

  • Mayor Brent A. Tercero
  • Mayor Pro Tem Gustavo V. Camacho
  • Councilmember Raul Elias
  • Councilmember Gregory Salcido
  • Councilmember VACANT 

As the elected legislative body of the City of Pico Rivera, the City Council establishes the overall policy direction of the City and is responsible for determining the size, scope, and financing of city services and projects. It also enacts all municipal legislation for the City and establishes land use policies through the General Plan and zoning regulations.

There are five City Council members who are elected, at large, for staggered four-year terms. The council members select one of the members to serve as Mayor and one to serve as Mayor Pro Tem. Municipal elections are held in even-numbered years on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November.

The City Council holds its regular meetings on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall. All of these meetings are open to the public and include a period for receiving comments from the public.

Pico Rivera operates under the Council-Manager form of government whereby the City Council provides policy direction to a City Manager appointed by the Council. The City Manager is the administrative head of the City, responsible for carrying out the Council’s policies and supervising the City's employees.

To help it determine policy, the City Council receives comments from the public, considers information and recommendations provided by the City Manager and other city staff members, and works closely with citizen advisory commissions. The members of these advisory groups are appointed by the Council to provide guidance on how best to meet the needs of the community as relates to their group’s specific area of concern. These advisory bodies include the Planning Commission, Parks and Recreation Commission and Sister City Commission.

In addition to appointing the City Manager, the City Council also appoints the City Attorney, the City Clerk, and the City Treasurer. The City Attorney is responsible for representing and advising the City on legal matters. The City Clerk conducts City elections, is the custodian of the City's records, and oversees all public hearings and contract bids. The City Treasurer is responsible for investing and safeguarding all the City’s financial assets, ensuring the accurate reporting of its financial condition, and reviewing, approving, and reporting all financial transactions for the City.

The City contracts with other public agencies to provide some municipal services, including the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department for law enforcement service, the Los Angeles County Fire Department for fire protection and paramedic emergency services, and the Los Angeles County Library System to operate its two community libraries. Services provided to the community directly by City staff include building, planning, recreation, public works and engineering.