In a signing ceremony held last month, Salvador Zamora Zamora, Mayor of the City of Tlajomulco de Zúñiga, Jalisco, México, joined with members of the Pico Rivera City Council to formalize an agreement for the two Cities to become Sister Cities.

President Dwight D. Eisenhower established the Sister City concept in 1956 as a way for United States cities to create formal partnerships with foreign cities to exchange information and ideas to develop friendships and deepen cultural understanding. In addition to these newly formed relationships, there’s also the opportunity for tourism and business opportunities along with exchanging ideas, the sharing of products and technologies, and promoting mutual assistance.

The City of Tlajomulco de Zúñiga covers 246 square miles toward the southeast of the Guadalajara metropolitan area. The City has a population of approximately 728,000.

Tlajomulco de Zúñiga is the third Sister City for the City of Pico Rivera, following Mazatlan, and our first Sister City, San Luis Potosi.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window