Tobacco Retail License Program
On March 8, 2022, the Pico Rivera City Council approved an amendment to the Pico Rivera Municipal Code (PRMC), adding Chapter 5.75 to establish a Tobacco Retail Licensing Program and prohibit the sale of flavored tobacco products.
Under Ordinance No. 1154, local merchants that are licensed to sell tobacco products by the California State Board of Equalization will be required to purchase an annual Pico Rivera Tobacco Retail Permit in order to sell tobacco products within Pico Rivera.
The City’s annual fee for the permit is $520. The Pico Rivera Tobacco Retail Permit application is available here:
- Online Application– View PDF Version (Coming soon!)
- City Hall, 6615 Passons Blvd., Pico Rivera, CA 90660
Please note – the State of California also enacted a ban on the sale of flavored tobacco statewide, which became effective in December 2022. All flavored tobacco sales are now prohibited in California.
Requirements & Specifications
Beginning January 1, 2024, each Tobacco Retailer must obtain and maintain a valid Tobacco Retailer’s License at each location where tobacco products are sold.
Under PRMC Ch. 5.75, include (but are not limited to):
- Each Tobacco Retailer Permit shall be prominently displayed in a publicly-visible location at the Permitted location.
- Retail sales to persons younger than the minimum age under state law are prohibited. No person engaged in tobacco retailing shall sell or offer to sell, give or offer to give, or transfer or offer to transfer any tobacco products or tobacco paraphernalia to any person who is younger than the legal age, under state law, to purchase and possess tobacco products or tobacco paraphernalia.
- No Person who is younger than the minimum age established by state law for the purchase or possession of Tobacco Products shall engage in Tobacco Retailing.
- Positive identification required. No person engaged in tobacco retailing shall sell or transfer a tobacco product or tobacco paraphernalia to another person who appears to be under age without first examining a valid, legal photo identification of the recipient to confirm that the recipient is at least the minimum age under state law to purchase and possess the tobacco products or tobacco paraphernalia. The tobacco retailer shall refuse sale of any tobacco products or tobacco paraphernalia to any person who appears to be under age, who fails to present valid, legal photo identification prior to the sale or transfer. The legal age to purchase tobacco in the State of California is 21 years old.
- A tobacco retail license may be issued to authorize tobacco retailing at a fixed location only. Tobacco retailing on foot or from vehicles, carts, or any other non-fixed location, is prohibited and shall be considered a violation of this chapter.
- It is the responsibility of each Proprietor to be informed regarding all laws applicable to Tobacco Retailing, including those laws affecting the issuance of a Tobacco Retailer Permit. No Proprietor may rely on the issuance of a Permit as a determination by the City that the Proprietor has complied with all laws applicable to Tobacco Retailing.
Monitoring & Enforcement
Under PRMC, enforcement includes (but is not limited to):
- The compliance of each Tobacco Retailer shall be monitored by the Community and Economic Development Department – Code Enforcement Division
- Compliance checks shall be conducted so as to allow the Department to determine, at minimum, if the Tobacco Retailer is conducting business in a manner that complies with laws regulating youth access to Tobacco and the sale of flavored tobacco.
- Violations may result in the suspension or revocation of the Tobacco Retail License and additional penalties.
- In addition to other remedies provided by this Part or by other law, any violation of this Part may be remedied by a civil action brought by the City Attorney, including, for example, administrative or judicial nuisance abatement proceedings, civil or criminal code enforcement proceedings, and suits for injunctive relief.